Nick Grattan's Blog

About Microsoft SharePoint, .NET, Natural Language Processing and Machine Learning

Stubborn Publishing Pages

with 3 comments

This knowledge article describes the limitation with folders in the “Page” publishing document library – they are ignored by the publishing features and all publishing pages are placed in the root. That’s OK, I can live with that.

In a recent project, I wanted to create a new document library (“News Articles”) that used publising to maintain a list of news stories used by the site. So, I create a new document library, enable content types and add the “Page” content type from the “Publishing Content Types” group. Standard stuff…

Next to testing; I create a new item based on the Page content type, select the page layout and create the new item. The list of documents in my news article document library is freshed … and it’s empty. I try again – and again – and the document library remains stubbornly empty. I check the current view (is there a filter?) and permissions (I’m the site collection administrator); no luck.

Sometime later, I list of the content of the standard “Pages” document library created by the publishing feature. Lo and behold – all my new document pages are there! Rather than creating the new pages in my “News Articles” document library it placed them in the “Pages” document library.

So, not only does publishing ignore folders, it also ignores the document library you try to place pages in! We live and learn.

 

Written by Nick Grattan

September 15, 2008 at 3:27 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Nick,

    Currently I have a webpage which resides under Pages library and having the URL as the following.

    http://www.mysite.com/contact/pages/contactus.aspx

    I would like to know that if I can have a webpage which resides outside the Pages library?

    I don’t want the Pages document library to be shown in the URL.
    For ex: I would like to have the URL as following. http://www.mysite.com/contact/contactus.aspx

    Can you throw some light on how to achieve this?

    Hardik

    October 7, 2008 at 9:48 am

  2. Hi Nick,

    Currently, I have a page residing under the Pages library as following.

    http://www.mysite.com/contact/pages/ContactUs.aspx

    But I would like to have the page outside the Pages library and still be able to access it without any errors. I would like the URL as follows.

    http://www.mysite.com/contact/ConatctUs.aspx.

    How do I achieve this? Can you please provide some input on this?

    Hardik

    October 7, 2008 at 9:58 am

  3. The setting is on the content type also another option is to have a custom create page
    http://rdacollab.blogspot.com/2008/10/custom-sharepoint-publishing-library.html

    Colin

    March 12, 2009 at 5:59 am


Leave a Reply

